Orbis Pictus Awards for Nonfiction

I had a fantastic time at NCTE in Boston recently, and one of my favorite events was the Orbis Pictus session, where the current Orbis Pictus committee shared the winner of the 2013 NCTE Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children, as well as the honor books and recommended books.

Orbis Pictus Committee: Cyndi Giorgis, Deborah Thompson, Joyce Herbeck, Suzii Parsons, Lisa Morris-Wilkey, and Fran Wilson. Not pictured: Kathy Short, Edward Sullivan, and Linda Walters

It was great fun seeing educators share with passion, humor, and admiration what they love about these various books. Like many folks, I have a gut reaction aversion to mimes, but after hearing the book talk for the winning book, Monsieur Marceau: Actor Without Words, by Leda Schubert (Roaring Brook Press), I’m ready to read this. Actually, forget hearing. Just seeing Chair Fran Wilson mime opening up a book and being shocked at its fabulousness was enough to hook me. And who knew Marcel Marceau was a hero during WWII? I’ll soon be reading this title and just about every other book on the list that I haven’t already read.

So, if you’re wondering if you’ve missed any spectacular nonfiction books this past year, check out the complete Orbis Pictus list.

This post was cross-posted at my blog, laura purdie salas: writing the world for kids.

