Frozen in Time

20819633Kurlansky, Mark. Frozen in Time: Clarence Birdseye’s Outrageous Idea About Frozen Food 
Published November 11th 2014 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers

I know that not everyone likes to curl up with nonfiction books on obscure topics the way I do, but middle school librarians need to take a look at this one. For one thing, I love Kurlansky’s writing. I don’t know why. It just always sucks me right in, and gets me interested in stuff that I really don’t care about, like the history of salt. For another thing, National History Day should be flooded with projects on Clarence Birdseye and Philo T. Farnsworth, and it’s not. What is more influential on modern life than frozen food? And who made it commercially viable? (I loved Kurlansky’s assertion that it doesn’t matter who invents something, it’s the person who makes money at it who becomes famous!) Birdseye. I do have one student doing a project on it this year, but this is a must purchase for nonfiction collections. It will get used for research, and read by the three students every year who are willing to read literary nonfiction to make me happy.

I would have spaced out the pictures rather than putting them in an 8 page photo insert– with today’s graphic heavy series nonfiction from Lerner, etc., students are not as used to the text heavy versions of nonfiction.

See more middle grade book reviews at Ms. Yingling Reads.

2 thoughts on “Frozen in Time

Comments are closed.