Fatal Fever ~ author interview & book giveaway

fatalfeverLast week I introduced Gail Jarrow’s newest “deadly disease” book, Fatal Fever.

Then I had a chance to sit down and talk with Gail about her book.

Me: What inspired you to write about Typhoid fever?

Gail: When I was researching Red Madness (about Pellagra), I read a lot of public health bulletins. I kept seeing mentions of typhoid fever – which was happening at the same time. I’d heard about Typhoid Mary, but didn’t know much about her, so I decided to investigate. Then, as I began doing the research I discovered links between the people tracking down Mary and my town of Ithaca, NY, which also suffered an outbreak of typhoid fever. Learning about the people – Mary and the scientists tracking her – gave me a connection to this story.

You can read more of our interview – and enter for a chance to win a copy of this book – over at Sally’s Bookshelf. The giveaway ends on Friday.

