Courage & Defiance: Stories of Spies, Saboteurs and Survivors in World War II Denmark

e5bee-nonfiction_mondayI love writing about heroes and changemakers. It should be no surprise, then, that I love reading about them, too. My favorite kinds of stories are those about ordinary people who acted with extraordinary strength, conviction, and courage, and the book I just finished reading is full of people doing just that. In Courage & Defiance: Stories of Spies, Saboteurs and Survivors in World War II Denmark by Deborah Hopkinson (Scholastic Press, August 2015), the author has clearly done a great deal of careful research to bring us narrative nonfiction about the WWII resistance movement in Denmark from the perspective of some of those who took part in it. It’s a gripping tale of adventure and suspense, and one that has rarely been told.

I’m super excited to welcome Deborah back to my blog once again as part of the Courage and Defiance blog tour. To learn more about the book and read my interview with Deborah, please click here.

