Bird & Diz by Gary Golio

birddiz

Bird & Diz by Gary Golio. Illustrated by Ed Young. unpgd. Candlewick Press, February, 2015. 9780763666606. (Review from purchased copy)

I haven’t had this much fun with a read aloud since I “read” aloud, Chris Raschka’s Charlie Parker Played Be Bop lo, ten or so years ago. I found an audio book produced by Live Oak Media, which told the story so much better than I, leaving me free to observe the magic a great book weaves on an audience. Perhaps it’s bad form to open the review of one book with a reference to another. It is probably no coincidence that the subject matter lent itself so nicely to spectacular picture book more than two decades apart. Such was the magic of Birdman and Dizzy.

Be bop on over to Proseandkahn for the full review.

 

